Gallery

Day Nine

Today I found out only the computer in my cubicle has Photoshop, and therefore if someone needs to use it I get shifted. I enjoyed my new position however. In my back-of-the-room cubicle I got the best view of the security camera monitor. Now I can watch random people walking around the gallery when bored.

I’ve now caught on to how email is the primary means of communication throughout the Hazelhurst office. Why walk three metres when you can spend five minutes typing it for an email? I love how technology is great at bringing people together.

My first task for today (emailed to me) was phoning more suppliers. I’m starting to get the feeling that other people dislike making telephone calls as much as I do. But other people are not interns, and so the phoning jobs get left to me.

Not that I’m complaining. I mean was phoning people about jumping castle hire – I’m sure this was probably some sort of dream of mine as a child. Plus all this practice making phone calls means I no longer sound like gibbering llama when speaking over the phone. Bonus.

After sourcing the best darn jumping castle ever, Carrie got me designing artwork wall labels for an upcoming exhibition at the Moran Gallery, a gallery that collaborates with Hazelhurst regularly. Actually, ‘designing’ is probably too strong a word for what I was doing. More like assembling. I was assembling wall labels for the Moran Gallery. It didn’t take long, and now I know the specs for a wall label.

princeawkward.gif
Something I definitely did not already pickup from high school/university/life

Since I was such a good label assembler I also got to fix up the room-sheet for the same Moran Gallery exhibition. Both these tasks made me think about how my most useful workplace skill – if my experience at Hazelhurst is anything to go by – is the ability to use Microsoft Word. It’s boring but true; I would be in deep shit if I did not know how that program worked. Interning at Hazelhurst is pretty great for getting to do tasks like this though, where I get to find out about lots of different art and artists in the Sydney region.

Returning from lunch to find myself locked out of the office (are they trying to tell me something?), I carried on with a bit of a re-design of the Vital Signs e-invite. While Carrie liked the original design I showed her, she thought it could be improved by including images of the more colourful artworks being exhibited. An idea I also liked in theory, but made difficult by the fact that 80% of the artists exhibiting have neutral-toned works and/or sent in -1000 dpi images.

jedimage3.jpg
How low dpi images look  v. how they look online

 

I struggled on however, and came up with several new designs that *hopefully* no one would notice the crappy image quality in some of the images.

Leave a Reply

